And she sat back with a sigh of relief…

That sigh of relief is in recognition of the fact that, when I posted my review of Romance Of The Pyrenees, I had finally caught up all of my outstanding reviews: something I’ve been struggling with, and panicking over, since Aphra Behn took over my life at the beginning of the year. It took many library renewels, much scribbling of notes on the train, great cruelty to my poor suffering eyes, and in the case of The London Jilt, having to re-borrow and re-read the whole book, but I finally got myself up to speed.

And having done so, I then proceeded to do what I always seem to do in these situations, which is celebrate by plunging straight back into the mire I’d just fought my way out of. I’ve finished two books since that last post, both of which require a response. Thankfully, they are neither of them major works (or what counts for a “major work” around here, like a convoluted 4-volume Gothic novel), so I’m hopeful this won’t be too much of an issue.

Yeah, I know – Famous Last Words.

In the meantime, here’s what we have by way of Upcoming Attractions:

  • Chronobibliography:  The London Bully – Anonymous (1683)
  • Reading Roulette:  Lily, The Lost One – K.M. Weld (1881)
  • Authors In Depth:  Retribution – E.D.E.N. Southworth (1849)
  • Reading Challenge:  Rookwood – William Harrison Ainsworth (1834)
Tags:

2 Comments to “And she sat back with a sigh of relief…”

  1. Congratulations! And apparently you’re still enjoying it…

  2. Thanks! Yes, I am enjoying it, but I haven’t yet managed to fall into a proper shedule / pattern with this, as I’d hoped. My main issue isn’t the blog’s fault, though, or only indirectly. I’ve been swamped both at work and personally lately, and there are so many things I’m just not getting to – it’s frustrating and a little scary – but then when I do get a few minutes I end up blogging instead of doing things that really need doing, just to have a little relaxation time. So there’s a guilt component at the moment that takes the edge off the fun. But one of these days…

Leave a Reply

